Council History


The formation of local governments in St George occurred as a direct result of the arrival of the railway and the knock-on effect this had on population growth and urban development. A governing body for the community was needed that would provide essential services and improve road conditions.
Rockdale was the first government area in St George to form a municipality, and Rockdale Council was officially proclaimed on
13 June 1871. Kogarah Council followed on 22 December 1885. Attempts to establish Hurstville Council began through a series of public meetings held at the Blue Post Inn. A petition containing 635 signatures was collected and the municipality became official on
25 March 1887. The first Council meeting was held at Mr Locrin Tiddy’s home on Forest Road, Hurstville.

From Thursday, 12 May 2016, Hurstville City Council and Kogarah City Council were officially proclaimed to form a new entity and become Georges River Council.

Did you know?
Hurstville Council used the old Hurstville Fire Station on the corner of Dora and MacMahon Streets as a Council Chambers from 1913, until a purpose-built Council Chambers was erected on the site in 1931.

Image: Hurstville Council Chambers, MacMahon Street, Hurstville,
c. 1960s
. Georges River Council, Local Studies collection.